Curriculum Areas

Curriculum Guides

Curriculum revisions in each subject area are made through a collaborative process involving teachers and administrators, with input from parents and board members.  All curriculum guides are in alignment with the NJ Student Learning Standards. 
Click on each subject/program area for more information.

Image result for books images

New Jersey Student Learning Standards (NJSLS)

 New Jersey adopted its first set of standards in 1996. These original standards covered seven academic areas. Revisions were made to the standards in 2009, and the most recent adoption was in 2014. There are now nine academic areas that include Visual and Performing Arts, Comprehensive Health & Physical Education, Language Arts Literacy, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, World Languages, Technology, and 21st Century Life and Careers. Each standard is divided into a number of separate strands. The strands contain Cumulative Progress Indicators (CPIs), which establish what students should know and be able to do in a specific academic area by grade level or grade span.

In June of 2010, NJ adopted the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), which are national standards that were created in an effort to provide more consistency among the various State Departments of Education across the country. The CCSS Standards underwent an additional review in 2015, which produced minor revisions that were adopted by the State Board of Education in May 2016. In addition, Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), also national standards, were adopted in July 2014.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.